Martina Almgren - Peace of Mind

The Swedish drummer and composer Martina Almgren has created a mesmerising second solo album, Peace of Mind. In this very playful recording she returns to her musical roots in collaboration with saxophonist Elin Forkelid, guitarr player Mattias Torell and Owe Almgren electric bass. A meeting between earthy grooves and ethereal tunes in an organic way. Vivid and with a very tangible, dynamic beat.

Martina Almgren PEACE OF MIND
OYR014 Oh Yeah Records release 6 September 2019

Martina Almgren – drums, piano&voice
Elin Forkelid – saxophones
Mattias Torell – guitar
Owe Almgren – electric bass

All compositions by Martina Almgren except no 2 based on a traditional joik, and no 5 by Lennart Kullgren. Lyrics on no 3 by Werner Aspenström. 
Recorded and mixed by Janne Hanssong at Atlantis Studio, Stockholm in February 2019
Mastered by Henrik Alsér at Svenska Grammofon Studion  2019
Cover design by Kajsa Nilsson
Produced by Martina Almgren OH YEAH RECORDS 2019.

Photo by Janne Hansson©
Photo by Janne Hansson©

Strax före Solnedgången

Strax före solnedgången skälver alltid träden
Inte av vind, men av kärlek till varandra

Trastarna sjunger sångens död

Ingen vet hur länge natten varar

Werner Aspenström